The Philippine’s temporary ban on international crew change is being extended to cover seafarers coming the Czech Republic, the 36th nation on the list.

The addition of the Czech Republic applies from 00-01hrs on 28 January and bars all international crew change within 14 days for non-Filipino crew. Crew change can still be conducting for Filipino national seafarers, however, is only allowed in the Port of Manila with transfer by shipping agents to dedicated facilities for a strict 14-day quarantine.

The temporary ban that was initially put in place for 20 nations from 30 December 2020 to 15 January 2021 relates to the new mutation of the Covid-19 virus that spreads more easily.

On 15 January the Philippines government Department of Transport extended the ban until 31 January, and with countries continuing to be added to the list a further extension at the end of the month looks a likely possibility.

Source: Seatrade Maritime